Gervais Elementary School Staff

Administration

From the Desk of the Principal

Creighton Helms, Principal
Gervais Elementary School

503-792-3803 x1020
creighton_helms@gervais.k12.or.us

My values as an administrator are founded on my passion to ensure success for all GES students. I am thankful for the diverse experiences I’ve had to build the leadership characteristics I value most – teamwork, honesty, transparency, and effective communication. I fully intend on leveraging these traits to pursue my number one priority at GES – to ensure that every student receives an education and experience that provides them the greatest opportunity to succeed, both within the walls of GES and beyond them. To accomplish this, our students deserve outstanding instruction from highly qualified teachers, exceptional leadership from

effective administrators, and equal access to opportunities and supports that enable them to develop character, cultivate passions, and explore the world around them. As your principal, I am committed to this endeavor by ensuring that student needs and interests help shape instruction and opportunities through a shared commitment to learning, and that all students have equal opportunity to discover their passions and sense of purpose.

I also highly value frequent collaboration with parents, staff, and community members. Please do not hesitate to reach out to me if you have any questions, concerns, or ideas that you would like to discuss. I look forward to a great year ahead for all of us.

  • Elementary School
  • High School
  • Middle School
  • District Staff

Ballweber, Carrie

Special Education Support Assistant

(503) 792-3803 x1113
carrie_ballweber@gervais.k12.or.us

School(s) Attended: Chemeketa Community College

Years in Education: 16 years

Grades/Classes/Roles: Special Education K-5 Assistant

My Interests/Favorites: Spending time at the Beach

Belle, Eliana

Teacher

503-792-3803 x1134
eliana_belle@gervais.k12.or.us

School(s) Attended: I attended Western Oregon University for my BA in Elementary Education, my ESOL Endorsement, and my Master’s Degree in Curriculum and Instruction with a focus in STEM Education.

Years in Education: I began my teaching career at GES in 2018.

Grades/Classes/Roles: I teach kindergarten. My Interests/Favorites: One of my favorite hobbies is camping!

Broadhurst, Kerry

Teacher

(503) 792-3803 x1102
kerry_broadhurst@gervais.k12.or.us

School(s) Attended: Teaching Degree earned from Western Oregon University and Master’s Degree from Portland State University in Curriculum and Instruction

Years in Education: Been with the Gervais School District since 1998

Grades/Classes/Roles: 5th Grade Math Teacher

My Interests/Favorites: I am a huge Superman fan.

Favorite Quote: “All you can take with you is that which you’ve given away.” (Pa Bailey, It’s a Wonderful Life).

Broadhurst, Sara

Counselor

503-792-3803 x1128
sara_broadhurst@gervais.k12.or.us

Bustamante, Emma

Instructional Assistant

503-792-3803
emma_bustamante@gervais.k12.or.us

Campbell, Jeremy

Instructional Assistant

503-792-3803
jeremy_campbell@gervais.k12.or.us

Chacon Ventura, Veronica

Latchkey Worker

503-792-3803
veronica_chaconventura@gervais.k12.or.us

Chase, Michelle

Teacher

(503) 792-3803 x1104
michelle_chase@gervais.k12.or.us

School(s) Attended: George Fox University MAT

Years in Education: 12 years

Grades/Classes/Roles: second grade teacher

My Interests/Favorites: A person who reads lives 1,000 lives, while a person who doesn’t read lives only one.

Cisneros, Angelica

Instructional Assistant

503-792-3803
angelica_cisneros@gervais.k12.o.us

Cook, John

Teacher

503-792-3803
john_cook@gervais.k12.or.us

School(s) Attended: George Fox University (B.S. in Elementary Education)

Years in Education: I student taught at Gervais Elementary School in 2020

Grades/Classes/Roles: Online Instruction Teacher

My Interests/Favorites: I love board games and tabletop games!

A quote I need daily: “The wise man loves correction”

Cortes, Maddy

Teacher

503-792-3803 x1140
maddy_cortes@gervais.k12.or.us

Crabtree, Madeline

Instructional Assistant

503-792-3803
madeline_crabtree@gervais.k12.or.us

Dees, Kalynn

Teacher

503-792-3803 x1122
kalynn_naulty@gervais.k12.or.us

School(s) Attended: Southern Oregon University, Masters Degree

Years in Education: Started teaching in 2015 and started teaching in Gervais in 2018

Grades/Classes/Roles: 1st Grade Teacher

My Interests/Favorites: My favorite book is Wonder by R. J. Palacio.

My favorite quote, “When given the choice between being right or being kind, choose kind.” -Dr. Wayne W. Dyer

Dettwyler, Wynelle

Teacher

(503) 792-3803 x1108
wynelle_dettwyler@gervais.k12.or.us

School(s) Attended: Western Oregon University – Bachelor’s degree in Education, Master’s degree in ESOL Silverton Union High School

Years in Education: Elementary Teacher in Gervais School District since 2000.

Grades/Classes/Roles: 4th Grade Teacher

My Interests/Favorites: I love spending time with my family and going to the beach.

Devine-Jenson, Patricia

Teacher

(503) 792-3803 x1110
patricia_devine-jenson@gervais.k12.or.us

School(s) Attended: I went to High School in Heppner Oregon and Attended Eastern Oregon University for my BA, MAT, and ESOL Endorsement

Years in Education: I am beginning my ninth year teaching and am beginning my seventh year at GSD

Grades/Classes/Roles: I am teaching Kindergarten

My Interests/Favorites: I love going to exercise classes, walking my dog, Tate, going to farmer’s markets, and reading many kinds of books!

Enciso Anaya, Jasmin

Instructional Assistant

503-792-3803
jasmin_encisoanaya@gervais.k12.or.us

Everts, Cindy

Food Service

503-792-3803
cindy_everts@gervais.k12.or.us

Fast, Tiffany

Teacher

(503) 792-3803 x1112
tiffany_fast@gervais.k12.or.us

School(s) Attended: PSU (BS) George Fox (Masters in Teacher)

Years in Education: 22

Grades/Classes/Roles: 4th Grade GES

My Interests/Favorites: Spending time with my kids

Gage, Kay

Administrative Teacher on Special Assignment

(503) 792-3803 x1028
kay_gage@gervais.k12.or.us

School(s) Attended: McNary HS Keizer, OR, WOSC undergraduate, WOU Masters in Education, U of O Administrators License

Years in Education: I started teaching Fall 1983, I joined the GSD fall of 1995

Grades/Classes/Roles: K – 12 Music, Band, Choir K – 5 Assistant Principal

My Interests/Favorites: Playing the piano and singing. Spending time with my family and our dog Lilo.

Gatchet, Theresa

Teacher

(503) 792-3803 x1118
theresa_gatchet@gervais.k12.or.us

School(s) Attended: WOU with a Bachelors of Arts in Education Portland State University with a Masters in Curriculum and Instruction and George Fox with a Reading Endorsement

Years in Education: Taught 1st grade for 19 years and 2nd grade since 2018

Grades/Classes/Roles: 19 years as a first grade teacher and 1 year as a second grade teacher

My Interests/Favorites: I love to read and spend time outdoors hiking, boating, and watching my kids play soccer! I love to travel with my family and friends!

My favorite quote comes from one of my favorite authors, Dr. Seuss “the more that you read, the more things you will know. The more that you learn, the more places you’ll go!”

Gomez, Raul

ELD Teacher on Special Assignment

503-792-3803 x2136
raul_gomez@gervais.k12.or.us

Guerrero, Lilia

Instructional Assistant

503-792-3803
lilia_guerrero@gervais.k12.or.us

School(s) Attended:

Years in Education: This is my second year at Gervais Elementary Grades/Classes/Roles: I work in the Latchkey program

Guzman, Sofia

Secretary

(503) 792-3803 x1030
sofia_guzman@gervais.k12.or.us

School(s) Attended: Chemeketa Community College

Years in Education: I started working in the district in the 2000/01 school year.

Grades/Classes/Roles: Secretary

My Interests/Favorites: “Live Each Day as if it Were Your Last, Tomorrow is Not Promised”

Hamberger, Bernadette

Food Service

(503) 792-3803 x1053
bernadette_hamberger@gervais.k12.or.us

School(s) Attended: John F Kennedy High/Chemeketa Community College

Years in Education: 23 years and @ GSD 20 years

Grades/Classes/Roles: Food Service

My Interests/Favorites: Favorite thing to do is, spending time with my son & family my granddaughters

Hazelton, Kristi

Teacher

(503) 792-3803 x1124
kristi_hazelton@gervais.k12.or.us

School(s) Attended: Seattle Pacific University

Years in Education: 19

Grades/Classes/Roles: Teacher 4th/5th

My Interests/Favorites: “Young people need models, not critics.” John Wooden

Helm, Stacey

Teacher

503-792-3803 x1106
stacey_helm@gervais.k12.or.us

School(s) Attended: Oregon State University, BA George Fox, MAT

Years in Education: I became a teacher in 2016 and began working at GES in 2017.

Grades/Classes/Roles: Classroom Teacher 3rd grade

My Interests/Favorites: “If you see someone without a smile, give them yours!” (Dolly Parton)

Helms, Creighton

Principal

503-792-3803 x1020
creighton_helms@gervais.k12.or.us

School(s) Attended: South Medford High School (Medford, OR) B.S. from the United States Coast Guard Academy M.A. Western Governors University M.S. Penn State University, College of Medicine Ed.D. from Creighton University Post-Doc Certificate from Harvard University

Years in Education: 12 years total; 5 years in GSD

Grades/Classes/Roles: GES Principal

My Interests/Favorites: Competitive paper airplane thrower Impromptu karaoke singer Looks forward every Monday morning to shout: “Gooooooooood morning Gervais Elementary School Bumblebeeeeeeeeees……”

Jimenez, Gerardo

Counselor

503-792-3803 x1036
gerardo_jimenez@gervais.k12.or.us

School(s) Attended: Attended North Salem High school/Graduated from Portland State University with a Masters in Social Work

Years in Education: Total Years in an education is about 5 years and 4 years at GSD

Grades/Classes/Roles: k-5th counseling program/social worker

My Interests/Favorites: “You may encounter many defeats, but you must not be defeated. In fact, it may be necessary to encounter the defeats, so you can know who you are, what you can rise from, how you can still come out of it.” ― Maya Angelou

Karns, Courtney

Teacher

503-792-3803 x1116
courtney_karns@gervais.k12.or.us

School(s) Attended: University of Wisconsin – Eau Claire (Music Education) Portland State University (Masters in Early Childhood Education)

Years in Education: 12th year in education, 4th year at GSD

Grades/Classes/Roles: K-5 Music and Choir Teacher

My Interests/Favorites: Love yoga and travel!

Koos, Barbara

Teacher

(503) 792-3803 x1160
barbara_koos@gervais.k12.or.us

School(s) Attended: Oregon State University

Years in Education: I’m in my 30th year teaching and 26th year at GSD

Grades/Classes/Roles: Elementary PE

My Interests/Favorites: Ocean kayak fishing

Lader, Alia

Instructional Assistant

503-792-3803
alia_lader@gervais.k12.or.us

Lafollette, Vanessa

Instructional Assistant

(503) 792-3803 x1129
vanessa_lafollette@gervais.k12.or.us

School(s) Attended: Horndean Comprehensive School, UK

Years in Education: 20 and 16

Grades/Classes/Roles: Kindergarten IA & Care Team coordinator

My Interests/Favorites: Gardening and reading about English history.

Lal-Ryder, Ruth

Teacher

503-792-3803
ruth_lal-ryder@gervais.k12.or.us

Lister, Marci

Teacher

503-792-3803 x1130
marci_lister@gervais.k12.or.us

Schools Attended: University of Arizona (B.A. in English) Portland State University (B.A. in speech and hearing sciences) Portland State University (M.Ed. in English and special education)

Years in Education: I started teaching in 1999 in various roles and have been with Gervais School District since 2021.

Grades/Classes/Roles: K-5 learning specialist/special education teacher

My Interests/Favorites: Exploring new places: hiking, road trips, and fine arts destinations

Ludwikoski, Lisa

Teacher

503-792-3803 x1014
lisa_ludwikoski@gervais.k12.or.us

School(s) Attended: B.S.Ed–University of Kansas 1989 / ESOL Endorsement–Corban University 2019

Years in Education: Three years at Gervais Elementary School and Thirty years in K-12 education (classroom, substitute, catechist, homeschooling)

Grades/Classes/Roles: Fourth grade teacher

My Interests/Favorites: Favorite: those occasional, brief moments during student learning when children realize they are witness to, and are part of, something greater than themselves

Ludwikoski, Mary

Latchkey Worker

503-792-3803
mary_ludwikoski@gervais.k12.or.us

Martin, Rachel

Teacher

503-792-3803 x1162
rachel_martin@gervais.k12.or.us

Martinez, Alejandra

Teacher

503-792-3803
alejandra_martinezlopez@gervais.k12.or.us

My Roles: Assisting our newcomers, Monitoring ELL

My Education Background: Samuel Brown Academy

Responsibilities This Year: To help students graduate, and keep their grades up. To help students learn English

Favorite Quote: “Your limitation – Its only your imagination.”

Obendorf, Elizabeth

Library Assistant

503-792-3803 x1040
elizabeth_obendorf@gervais.k12.or.us

School(s) Attended: Chemeketa Community College Western Oregon University (BA in Literature and minor in linguistics + TEFL Certificate) California State University San Marcos (MA in Literature and Writing Pedagogy) Started in the fall of 2021

Years in Education: I’ve been at GES since 2020

Grades/Classes/Roles: K-5 Library/ STE(A)M specials

Oropeza, Esther

Instructional Assistant

(503) 792-3803 x1117
esther_oropeza@gervais.k12.or.us

School(s) Attended:

Years in Education: 19 years

Grades/Classes/Roles: Instructional Assistant

My Interests/Favorites: I really enjoy working with children and being a part of this community.

Piazza, Eleanor

Teacher

(503) 792-3803 x1136
eleanor_piazza@gervais.k12.or.us

School(s) Attended: University of Oregon, BS Geography, MAT George Fox University

Years in Education: 23 years in education, 13 years at Gervais

Grades/Classes/Roles: Kindergarten Teacher

My Interests/Favorites: My favorite thing to do is read and walk my dog!

Poissant, Jayme

Teacher

(503) 792-3803 x1138
jayme_poissant@gervais.k12.or.us

School(s) Attended: University of Oregon B.A. in Journalism, George Fox M.A.T

Years in Education: 15 Total years in. 14 Years with Gervais.

Grades/Classes/Roles: Fifth Grade Elementary Reading Teacher

My Interests/Favorites: My favorite thing to do is to sit on the beach with a good book, especially if the author is Jane Austen.

“It isn’t what we say or think that defines us, but what we do.” ― Jane Austen

Ramon, Erica

Food Service

(503) 792-3803 x1055
erica_ramon@gervais.k12.or.us

School(s) Attended:

Years in Education:

Grades/Classes/Roles: I work in Nutrition Services at Gervais Elementary

Reyes, Diego

Food Service

503-792-3803
diego_reyes@gervais.k12.or.us

Grades/Classes/Roles: I work in Nutrition Services at Gervais Elementary.

Roberts, Deborah

Instructional Assistant

503-792-3803 x1119
deborah_roberts@gervais.k12.or.us

School(s) Attended: Sheridan High School

Years in Education: I have worked in GSD for 4 years

Grades/Classes/Roles: Instructional Assistant in the FLC

My Interests/Favorites: My favorite thing to do is be at home with my kids, dogs, and cat

Robinson, Charmayne

Instructional Assistant

503-792-3803
charmayne_robinson@gervais.k12.or.us

Rodriguez, Cristina

Food Service Worker

503-792-3803 x1051
cristina_rodriguez@gervais.k12.or.us

Grades/Classes/Roles: I work in Nutrition Services at Gervais Elementary.

Ruiz, Adelita

Teacher

503-792-3803 x3125
adelita_ruiz@gervais.k12.or.us